RM100,000 allocation for opposition ADUNS a good start and should be expanded

UPKO congratulates Datuk Seri Hajiji Hj Noor for starting to reform a flawed practice under the BN and Warisan-Plus era.

However, UPKO is of the opinion that the reform can be expanded and Datuk Seri Hajiji will be remembered by history if his government can enact a legislation that ensure equitable CDF for all ADUNs and MPs regardless of their party affiliation. Gabungan Rakyat Sabah should be more reformist than its predecessors.

Currently, the State Government gives a state minister annual allocation of RM2.1 million, an assistant state minister RM1.14 million and a government backbencher RM1.1 million.

The Sabah state government also gives MPs RM10,000 monthly to maintain their service centre, but the money is channeled to the Bersatu Division Chairperson for 14 opposition-held constituencies in Sabah and Labuan.

The RM10,000 should be given to the MP office elected by the people, regardless of party she or he represents. Giving RM 1.68 Million to the 13 Division chairpersons of the State Government’s anchor party should be stopped.

UPKO will advocate for this reform both at state and federal level not only under the present government, but also any political coalition seeking for mandate from the people to form the government in the future.

Wilfred Madius Tangau
Tuaran Member of Parliament
UPKO President

Donald Mojuntin
Senator from UPKO
Deputy President UPKO

Ewon Benedict
UPKO Assemblymen for Kadamaian
UPKO Vice President

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *